Your browser version is outdated. We recommend that you update your browser to the latest version.

CWA Ardrossan


Phone: (08) 88374 043






Executive Committee Members for 2015 - 2016 are as follows:

President - Pam Headon - 8837 7276

Secretary - Lynda O'Callaghan - 0402 123635

Treasurer - Heather Higgs - 8837 3170

Meetings held monthly - every second Wednesday in the CWA Room in the Ardrossan small hall.   

Craft at 9.30 am and the general meeting held at 1.30 pm, followed by a pooled afternoon tea. 

New members very welcome. 

Craft activities, excursions,Branch celebrations and annual events, not to mention a chance to work as a volunteer at the Royal Adelaide Show CWA Café.

Come along and join a well known Association


Mrs IJ Warnes, formerly Miss Mary Fairbrother of Adelaide, went as a very young bride to Old Koomooloo Station, east of Burra. She felt that country women needed their own organisation to represent rural interests. The Country Women's
Association movement in South Australia was born in Burra in 1926. It was, and still is non-party political, non-sectarian and non-profit.

Realising the impossibility of having an effective country women's movement without city cooperation, Mrs Warnes called a meeting in Adelaide of women who had once lived in the country. From this the Metropolitan Branch of the Country Women's Association was formed in August 1928.

The South Australian Country Women's Association came into being in April 1929. For 70 years women in both city and country areas have worked side by side to raise money to support the aims of the Association. Financial support has been, and continues to be provided for State Objectives, Scholarship Funds, purchase and upkeep of Holiday Cottages and State Properties as well as International Work, particularly in the South Pacific Area.

SACWA is affiliated with the Country Women's Association of Australia and the Associated Country Women of the world. 

Fields marked with * are required.